Buzzword brownies

Leave a comment

September 30, 2014 by josie100olives

Raw Vegan Brownies. Although sometimes they are not raw, and sometimes not vegan. Depends on what you put in them. Hence Buzzword Brownies

Raw Vegan Brownies. Although sometimes they are not raw, and sometimes not vegan. Depends on what you put in them. Hence Buzzword Brownies

I’d totally forgotten about this recipe until a friend from work who recently moved offices told me it had ‘gone viral’ in her new workplace after she took these brownies along for a morning tea. I call them ‘buzzword brownies’ because of all the health/allergy/specific-eating-philosophy boxes they tick. Fortunately they also tick the most important (well, for me anyway) box – taste. These are absolutely delicious.

They can be made gluten free, raw (if you make the version without oats and peanut butter – I only just discovered that oats are steamed, so not considered ‘raw’), and are vegan and free of refined sugar, as they are sweetened only with dates.

They’re also really adaptable  –  I’ve made them with and without oats, I’ve added tahini and/or peanut butter, included walnuts and sunflower seeds and changed the spices depending on what I have.  This version with the coconut oil is more like a chocolate bar texture (like coconut rough) and is good cold from the fridge. If you want a more brownie/cakey texture I would add another half a cup of the oats, and swap peanut butter for the coconut oil.

The key really is to get the mix to hold together when you squeeze it, so just add more of your dry (nuts, coconut, oats) or wet (peanut butter/tahini coconut oil) until it feels right.   No matter which variation you choose, these are a useful sweet-but-not-too-naughty treat to have on hand. They keep for ages if you stash them in the fridge or freezer, and they are great or beating the 4pm slump at work when all you want is chocolate. So give these a try, and be sure to let me know if you come up with any killer combinations of your own.

Buzzword Brownies 

  • 1 cup dates (soaked to make blending easier if they are very dry – usually just in water, although I have used rum, I won’t lie)
  • ½ cup each of raw almonds (can use whole/slivered, almond meal would be fine too I reckon) , oats, coconut
  • 2 tsps cinnamon 1 tsp ground ginger 1tsp vanilla essence 1/3 cup cocoa powder, 1tbsps coconut oil.

Blend ( I do the dates first then add the nuts, then blend again, then add the rest, because if I don’t my tiny hand blender cracks it, but if you have a decent food processor you shouldn’t have any trouble getting it all to mash up in one go)  until the mix holds together when you squeeze it. Sometimes a dollop of peanut butter, tahini or honey/rice malt syrup/golden syrup helps with this if it won’t stick. Smooth into the bottom of a square glass dish lined with greaseproof paper, to an even thickness. Refrigerate til set, then cut into squares. You can also roll these into balls and coat them with cocoa, coconut, sesame seeds or even chia seeds. I find the squares a lot less fiddly, but the balls look nicer on a plate). Keep in fridge or freezer.

Leave a Reply

Aerogramme Writers' Studio

Books and Writing | News and Resources

Shivaay Delights

Sharing my passion for cooking and baking ♡

Food 4 Your Mood

A journey to the Gastronomy Universe. A one-stop destination for foodies, chefs and wannabes.

StyleCaster

Style News and Trends

The Travelling Pantry

Adventurous, Honest and Wholesome

GoanImports.com

Learn Goan and Indian Recipes

I'll cook. Bring wine.

David Lebovitz

Paris based chef baking and writing cookbooks

Closet Cooking

I'll cook. Bring wine.

101 Cookbooks

I'll cook. Bring wine.

Food52

I'll cook. Bring wine.

For the Love of Wine

Just another WordPress.com site

Veggie num num

I'll cook. Bring wine.

Oh She Glows

I'll cook. Bring wine.

Wonder Sonder

Reflections on the 35 countries I've traveled, and all that lies between them

Josh Stearns

Writings On Media, Culture, Nature, and Community

