Chocolate Chia Mousse Cake

3

August 28, 2014 by josie100olives

OMFG Get in my FACE!!!!

You won’t believe it’s raw, vegan AND gluten free

Raw, vegan, gluten free and uh-mazing. Make this cake immediately. You will not regret it.

I ripped this recipe out of a magazine recently, mainly because I had most of the ingredients in my cupboard and I wanted a sweetie. It’s from a new cookbook by Lorna Jane, the woman behind the activewear brand.

This cake was a lot simpler than similar recipes I’ve tried in the past, most of which involved soaking cashews overnight then blending them to a pulp. I have neither patience nor a strong enough blender, so the whole stir-pour-set method here was very appealing. I didn’t have any raw cacao, but regular cocoa powder worked fine, and I swapped the raw honey for rice malt syrup. I also used half almonds half walnuts to make up the two cups of nuts in the base instead of the walnut/macadamia/hazelnut combo called for in the original, mainly because that’s what I had on hand. I’m sure any combination of nuts would work well here though.

The mousse-like texture of the chia and coconut cream layer is what really makes this cake for me. Rich and creamy and chocolatey and just sweet enough, I can see myself using this combo of ingredients any number of ways. I’m a little late to the chia seed party, but I can see now why they have been so popular.

I didn’t bother with the berries and it was still great. A drizzle of raspberry coulis would be a great addition. This survived well in the fridge for a full week  and actually seemed to improve over time. I also cut off a chunk and froze it, and it survived thawing with no problems. This is quite rich, so I find a small slice is plenty, even though it is not super sweet. It has the texture of cheesecake but doesn’t leave you with that sick feeling you can sometimes get afterwards.

Being allergic to exercise and overpriced yoga pants means I have never set foot in a Lorna Jane store, but I’ll be shelling out for her cookbook on the basis of this cake alone. She already has an e-book available with some excellent sugar free recipes that is also worth checking out.

Chocolate Chia Mousse Cake

(adapted from Lorna Jane’s Raw Chocolate and Chia Cake with Berries)

Ingredients

10 dates

1 cup almonds

1 cup walnuts

1/3 cup cocoa powder

2 tbsp honey or rice malt syrup

1tsp of vanilla

375g mixed berries (optional)

Chocolate chia mousse

2 cups coconut cream

1/2 cup cocoa powder

2 tbsp honey or rice malt syrup

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

3/4 cup white chia seeds

Chocolate ganache

1/2 cup coconut oil

1/2 cup cocoa powder

1 tbsp honey or rice malt syrup

Method

Grease a 20 cm round springform cake pan and line the base and sides with baking paper. Process the dates, nuts, cocoa powder, honey and vanilla until well combined. Press the mixture into the base of the pan and smooth the surface. Refrigerate for 30 mins.

To make the chocolate chia mousse, whisk the coconut cream, cocoa, honey, vanilla and chia seeds in a large jug until combined. Pour mixture over the base and refrigerate for 3 hours until firm.

To make the chocolate ganache, whisk oil, cocoa and honey together  in a small bowl. refrigerate for 20 mins until thickened and spreadable. Remove the cake from the pan and discard the lining papers. Position on a serving plate and spread ganache over the top. Top with berries (if using) and serve.

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Chia Mousse Cake

  1. Ema Jones says:

    Can I use maple syrup instead of rice malt syrup?

Leave a Reply

Aerogramme Writers' Studio

Books and Writing | News and Resources

Shivaay Delights

Sharing my passion for cooking and baking ♡

Food 4 Your Mood

A journey to the Gastronomy Universe. A one-stop destination for foodies, chefs and wannabes.

StyleCaster

Style News and Trends

The Travelling Pantry

Adventurous, Honest and Wholesome

GoanImports.com

Learn Goan and Indian Recipes

I'll cook. Bring wine.

David Lebovitz

Paris based chef baking and writing cookbooks

Closet Cooking

I'll cook. Bring wine.

101 Cookbooks

I'll cook. Bring wine.

Food52

I'll cook. Bring wine.

For the Love of Wine

Just another WordPress.com site

Veggie num num

I'll cook. Bring wine.

Oh She Glows

I'll cook. Bring wine.

Wonder Sonder

Reflections on the 35 countries I've traveled, and all that lies between them

Josh Stearns

Writings On Media, Culture, Nature, and Community

